Tags

, , , ,

You are not special. You are not activists, or even “hacktivists”. You’re assholes.

Activism usually implies that there is some greater goal, that you believe what you are doing will help people, perhaps “make the world a better place.” The last few major acts of so-called hacktivists haven’t made an understandable point. What they have done is put regular people in bad places.

When a member of Anonymous took down GoDaddy today, he/she didn’t just fuck GoDaddy up. Small businesses and freelancers got fucked up. They are missing a full day’s worth or sales and/or work. My own website is admittedly, not that important in the scheme of things, but it’s down. Several sites that publish and/or sell work by indie authors are down. Regular people are losing money on this, and if you are a small business owner or freelancer, you know how much one day’s earnings matter.

And the reason? Well, the tweet explaining it verged on illiterate, but it came down to “testing” the safety of cybersecurity. Seriously?! Look, if my front window is single pane glass, I know it isn’t bullet proof–so don’t claim you did a drive by to test the safety of my window. Anyone with a brain realizes the internet isn’t safe.

Many people have complained that GoDaddy should have had better security, and I suppose that is a valid complaint, but let’s remember that the last high profile hack was reportedly the FBI. It sounds to me like this member of Anonymous did it because he could.

Well, I could go around punching unexpecting people in the face. I could steal candy from the locally owned convenience store. I could kick puppies. I don’t because I’m not a fucking dick. And that’s what it comes down to, “hacktivists”, you’re not changing the world, you’re not special–you’re just a dick.

Dick.

