I’m going to be political.

I don’t want to do it. I don’t like doing it. But, this is important.

If you are a woman, or you know a woman that you care about, I think there are some things you should be aware of.

Republican women get raped, too. Republican women have medical issues that would be helped by birth control, or conversely, hurt by pregnancy. They have times in their lives (yes, even the married ones) where pregnancy would signal a huge problem in their lives, perhaps even an insurmountable one.

Now, this may all seem pretty obvious to you–but it must be missed on some people. Women still vote Republican. Men who love women–men with sisters, mothers, wives, daughters–still vote Republican. They do this, I assume, because either they believe that it cannot happen to them or the people they love OR because they believe in other issues on the Republican platform, and I get that. Hell, I’ve voted Republican a couple of times, too.

But the truth is, it can happen to you. Just like a Constitutional Amendment banning abortion even in cases of rape and incest can happen, or, if you have faith in the Republicans ability to get what they want is happening. Access to birth control, even for women who pay their insurance premiums can be (is) at risk.

I’m not going to do an information dump on you. I’m not going to show you links that support my side or tell you that you are wrong for voting one way or another. I’m not going to push a candidate on you. I’m just going to ask you to pay attention. Please. Don’t let the controversy over Aiken’s words “legitimate rape” take your attention away from the very real push for a Constitutional ban on abortion for EVERYONE (rape and incest victims, women who may die if they carry to term, your sister, your mother, your daughter). Don’t let discussions about sex before marriage take your attention away from the fact that birth control is something women use regardless of their marital status or fidelity, and often to treat real medical issues. Don’t let the fact that Planned Parenthood performs abortions distract you from the medical services the organization provides many women (to include yearly exams that have nothing to do with pregnancy prevention or abortion).

Just…keep looking. Lift the veil.

